## **SERA Winter Business Meeting '00**

## Minutes for the 2000 SERA Winter Business Meeting

The 2000 Winter business meeting was held in the Macon Museum of Arts and Sciences' auditorium on February 26, 2000.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Dan Barnick at 10:15 Eastern Standard Time.

Middle Georgia Grotto was thanked for hosting the event.

It was announced that dinner would be at six PM and the programs would begin at seven PM. Don Hunter mentioned several promising locations for lunch.

It was announced that the sixth annual SERA Map Salon would be held and that Brent Aulenbach was coordinating it.

It was also announced that a photo salon would be held. Dan Barnick and Holly Bunch were to be the coordinators.

There were 22 organizations represented:

Alabama Cave Survey, Athens Speleological Society, Campaign Area Caving Association, Carolina Cave Survey, Central Alabama Grotto, Chattanooga Grotto, Clayton County Cavers, Cumberland Spelean Association, Dogwood City Grotto, East Tennessee Grotto, Flittermouse Grotto, Georgia Speleological Society, HR3, Huntsville Grotto, Lost Mountain Cavers, Middle Georgia Grotto, Nashville Grotto, Southeastern Cave Conservancy, Southport Chronic Cavers, Spencer Mountain Grotto, Tennessee Caver Survey, and Tennessee Central Basin Grotto.

Brent Aulenbach and Alan Cressler spoke briefly about the Scott's Gulf situation.

There was a presentation about the 2000 SERA Cave Carnival by Lee Trowbridge of the East Tennessee Grotto. It will be held near Crossville Tennessee at a 4H campground on May 19-21. A slide show was presented.

The morning session ended at 11:45 AM.

At 1:46 PM the afternoon business meeting was called to order by chairman Dan Barnick. The minutes from 1999 were read and approved. The treasurer's report was read and approved (see attachment).

The right of refusal list was discussed.

Rob Robbins made a motion that the Sec/Treas post be changed to a multiple year post. Dan Barnick explained the procedure for making a change to the constitution. Jim Wilbanks spoke in opposition. Rob Robbins withdrew the motion.

Jim Wilbanks moved to establish a committee to draft changes in the constitution and bylaws to bring them up to date. The motion was unanimously approved. Named to the committee were Rob Robbins, Debby Johnson and Jim Wilbanks.

Don Hunter moved to rename the SERA Conservation Award in honor of Alexis Harris. There were several seconds and no discussion. The motion was passed unanimously. The award is to be known as the Alexis Harris Conservation Award.

Don Hunter recommended that a new award be established. He felt the current awards were very specific and that a more general award was called for. He recommended it be called the Meritorious Service Award. A committee was named to come up with recommendations to be voted on at the next meeting. The members are Don Hunter, Dan Barnick, and Lynn Roebuck.

Jim Wilbanks moved that a letter of thanks be drafted to Tim White and Jerry Wallace for producing the new certificate. The motion was carried unanimously.

Jim Wilbanks read a letter from Benjy Von Cramon asking for a five hundred-dollar grant. He is going to produce a documentary on the role karst plays in groundwater contamination. Nancy Aulenbach spoke in favor. There was a general discussion about whether we could afford the grant. There was a general discussion about the importance of the subject. Many members spoke of their personal experiences and how this documentary could affect the public's awareness. Several persons expressed concern about any portrayal of sport caving. The motion was unanimously agreed to.

Alan Cressler moved that two hundred dollars be given to the SCCI. Jim Wilbanks spoke about the Fricks Cave mortgage. Jean Trowbridge offered a friendly amendment to increase the amount to three hundred dollars. Chris Hudson seconded. The motion was carried unanimously.

Dan Barnick brought up the fact that Middle Georgia was going to have a shortfall on the finances for the SWB meeting. Jim Wilbanks pointed out that there was an action authorizing contribution of up to one hundred dollars to the hosting grotto. Middle Georgia was asked to report the shortfall to the treasurer and told the money would be sent.

Debby Johnson asked about front money for the 2000 carnival. Jim Wilbanks pointed out that there was no provision for doing this although it had been done in the past. He stated it might be included in the bylaw update. Brent Aulenbach pointed out that it could be voted on by the previous winter business meeting.

Jim Wilbanks spoke about the creation of a history binder. All the past minutes, annual reports, and other documents had been bound in order. This is to be handed down and maintained for future members.

Awards committees were formed.

Francis McKinney: Brian Roebuck, Debby Johnson, and Varie Justin Richard Schreiber: Rob Robbins, Holly Bunch, and Don Hunter Larry Adams Landowner Appreciation Award: Larry Blair, John Klayer, and Jim Wilbanks. Alexis Harris Conservation Award: Brian Williamson, Michael Gilbert, and Alan Cressler

Don Hunter again expressed his thanks to the Middle Georgia Grotto. There was a round of applause.

## Elections were held:

Brian Williamson was nominated by Don Hunter for Vice Chair. He accepted and was approved by acclimation. Jim Wilbanks was reelected by acclimation to Sec/Treas.

The business meeting as adjourned at 3:15

The Awards committees then met and the results were:

Francis McKinney: Kenneth Huffines Richard Schreiber: Andy Zellner Larry Adams: Jackie and Francis Loyd Alexis Harris: Lynn Roebuck

The results of the sixth annual SERA Map Salon were:

Merit award: Jeremy Hill for Fountain Cave Merit award: Jerry Wallace for Overlooked Pit First place in new cartographer category: Brad Long for Powerbar Pit. First place in the vertical cave category: Jack Thomison for Beckoning Well First place for horizontal cave as well as Best of Show: Brent Aulenbach for Davis Farm Cave.

The photo salon had 25 entries in three categories. The winners were:

John Klayer, Honorable Mention for his hologram Jeff Boarman, third place in prints for Glory Hole. Rob Robbins, second place in prints for Tennessee Cave Salamander. Jeff Boarman, first place in prints for Glory Hole. Larry Blair, first place in slides for an unnamed slide of formations.

The banquet was first rate and held in the auditorium as well.

Programs for the evening were:

Tom Moltz on splitting rocks with feathers and wedges Dan Barnick and Holly Bunch with their 3D slide show John Klayer with a demonstration of holographic photography.

Respectfully submitted Jim Wilbanks

## 2000 Southeastern Regional Association Treasurer's Report

February 26, 2000

Beginning Balance:	\$1579.58
Includes accounting discrepancy of \$5.88	
Includes cash found \$100.00	
Income:	
1999 SERA Cave Carnival Income	620.00
Bank Interest	13.32
Total Income:	633.32
Expenses:	
SCCI Grant (approved 1999)	200.00

Alan Cressler Grant (approved 1999)	200.00
2000 Cash Awards	200.00
Award Supplies	8.64
Web Space	15.00
Copying Expenses	12.50
Total Expenses:	636.14
Ending Balance:	1576.76