Southeastern Regional Association of the National Speleological Society

Connect with us on


SERA Organizations

Constitution, Bylaws, and Acts

Officers of the Governing Committee

SERA Events

SERA Awards

SERA Newsletters

Calendar of Caving Events in the Southeast

Cave Conservation

Cave Safety

Closed Cave Lists


Avis Moni Hospitality Award

This award is named in honor of Avis Moni (NSS# 21217RL)(FE), who had a gift for making everyone she met feel like they had known her forever. Avis greeted every new guest with a big smile and a huge welcome. She was an inspiration to her fellow grotto members by sharing her knowledge and love of caving, and sharing her beloved cookies. This award recognizes those individuals who have gone the extra mile in reaching out to new grotto members, as well as keeping current grotto members informed and engaged in the caving community.


The Criteria for the Avis Moni Hospitality Award are as follows:

1. The Award will be given to a caver or non-caver who is a current, active grotto member, and actively participates in grotto meetings and business.

2. The nominee shall be a current NSS member in good standing.

3. The nominee will have shown a willingness to welcome new attendees into their grotto by introducing themselves, and acknowledging new visitors.

4. The nominee will be proactive in sharing important caving information such as NSS new caver pamphlets, grotto news, online resources, etc.

5. The nominee will take it upon themselves to help to arrange new caver and/or kid friendly cave trips.


The Avis Moni Hospitality Award may be awarded on a yearly basis. Any active NSS member, who wishes to nominate a person based on the above criteria, may do so by completing the nomination form, and writing a short paragraph or two as to why the nominee is deserving of this award. This award will be awarded at the annual SERA Winter Business meeting, and will consist of:

1. A $100.00 cash award to the recipient. Funds for this award are donated by the Nashville Grotto.

2. A Framed Certificate, which constitutes the Award itself.

3. A Plaque bearing the recipient’s name shall be displayed in the NSS Office.

4. The recipient’s name will be announced in the NSS News, and made available to regional, grotto, and any other appropriate publications.


Download nomination form.  PDF

Past Avis Moni Hospitality Award Award Recipients:
Year Recipient
2018 Kelly Smallwood
2019 Warren Wyatt
2020 Kim Fedrick
2021 Homero Rivas II
2022 Megsan Atkins
2023 Becky Williams

Back to SERA Awards