Southeastern Regional Association of the National Speleological Society

Connect with us on


SERA Organizations

Constitution, Bylaws, and Acts

Officers of the Governing Committee

SERA Events

SERA Awards

SERA Newsletters

Calendar of Caving Events in the Southeast

Cave Conservation

Cave Safety

Closed Cave Lists


Richard Schreiber Award

The Southeastern Regional Association (SERA) Richard Schreiber Award is named in honor of Richard W. Schreiber, who made many contributions to caving in the Southeast from the 1960's through the 1980's. Richard was a natural and enthusiastic teacher, as well as a project leader and mapper, who encouraged many to take a more active role in caving. This award recognizes those SERA cavers of less than ten years experience, and who have been openly involved with cave projects or studies in the Southeastern United States. This award intends not only to recognize previous accomplishment, but also to encourage future accomplishment and contribution.


The Criteria for the SERA Richard Schreiber Award is as follows.

1. The Richard Schreiber Award will be given to a caver with less than 10 years caving experience.

2. The nominee will be a caver who is or has taken on, participated in, or supported a project or study on at least one cave or cave system in the Southeastern Region.

3. The nominee will be one who has openly made their work available to the general caving population via published material. Examples of that material include grotto, regional, or section publications, and other publications.

4. The nominee will be an NSS member in good standing.

5. The nominee will be a SERA caver.

Download nomination form.  PDF

The Richard Schreiber Award may be awarded on a merit basis at the annual SERA Winter Business meeting. The Richard Schreiber Award will consist of:

1. A $50.00 Cash award to the recipient. Funds for this award will come from SERA general funds or an account specifically set up for this award.

2. A Framed Certificate, which constitutes the Award itself.

3. A Plaque bearing the recipient's name shall be displayed in the NSS Office.

4. The recipient's name will be announced in the NSS News, and made available to regional, grotto and any other appropriate publications.


Past Richard Schreiber Award Recipients:
Year Recipient
1991 Rick O'Hara
1992 Alan Cressler
1993 John Stembel
1994 Hal Love
1995 Mike Rogers
1996 Brent Aulenbach
1997 Paul Aughey
1998 Brian Roebuck
1999 Michael Gilbert
2000 Andy Zellner
2001 Jeremy Hill
2002 Kelly Norwood
2003 Mark Joop 
2004 Carey Frost
2005 Ryan Moran
2006 Anne Ellmore
2007 Not Awarded
2008 Paul “Bull” Snook
2009 Not Awarded
2010 Not Awarded
2011 Jason Hardy
2012 Kelly Smallwood
2013 Marty Abercrombie
2014 Clinton Elmore
2015 Mark Ostrander
2016 not awarded
2017 Zeke Mckee
2018 Natalie Pheasant
2019 Jon Zetterberg
2020 Lee White
2021 Justin Huffman
2022 Warren Wyatt
2023 Dane Garreau

Back to SERA Awards